The Founding of PAAC

Prevention As A Cure, or PAAC as I like to call it, officially came in to existence at the end of the long winter in 2006. I had spent the previous months and perhaps years in a restless state of being. Feeling as though I was constantly searching for something but having very little idea what it was I was seeking. I didn’t realize at the time that I was searching for my passion, for the one thing I could dedicate my life and my work to. I needed a place to channel the immense energy and ideas within me and nothing I had tired up to that point felt as though I had found it. I came across the following quote as the vision for PAAC began to take shape in my mind.

“The secret of life is to have a task, something you devote your entire life to, something you bring everything to, every minute of the day for the rest of your life. And the most important thing is, it must be something you cannot possibly do. ” — Henry Moore

Born of my intense restlessness the foundation of PAAC was formed. Over the next couple of years I would gradually breathe life into her as she slowly began to breathe on her own.

Defining PAAC and what it’s vision unfolded as I began to define what it was not. PAAC would not be another website full of the brutal statistics about child and intimate partner abuse. PAAC wouldn’t focus on what was wrong with relationships or who was to blame for those faults. Instead of calling attention to the bad PAAC would focus on was good and how to build stronger and healthier lasting relationships in partnering and parenting. PAAC would be a catalyst for social change at the very core of one of our most essential needs – to belong to one another. PAAC would teach children what had never been taught to children before and adults what they needed to succeed in marriage and partnering. PAAC would deal with the reality that most people grow up in family and social environments that do not promote healthy boundaries, unity, growth and respect and as a result people often ended up in relationships that were unsatisfying at best and abusive at worst.

In the past children were taught to respect their elders, adults, and members of the community but often at a cost of being silent about the abuse they suffered at the hands of those who were suppose to protect them. In the past adults have believed that the only choice they had to prevent repeating the mistakes their own parents made and causing or continuing their own emotional and psychological pain was not to repeat the same mistakes, but often at the cost of making the opposite and equally caustic choices often destroying the families they worked so hard to build.

While a deep understanding of the past can teach us great things, a strong and clear vision of the future can teach us even more.

PAAC was about to challenge the past with a vision of the future.

Leave a Reply

